Dating back to the 14th century, the former Bishop’s Palace, in the gardens of St. Canice’s Cathedral is a significant historic building and an important part of the fabric of Kilkenny’s rich heritage, and undertaking the refurbishment of this protected structure was no small task. When we were asked to undertake the project to sensitively restore and extend the building to accommodate the new headquarters for the Heritage Council of Ireland, along with a well established bat colony, we happily rose to the challenge.
Our team of skilled craftsmen and master builders fitted in perfectly with a team of archaeologists, wildlife and plant experts and timber and paint consultants. The entire building was restored and upgraded, with particular attention paid to historic joinery and delicate plaster work. A new lift was sensitively installed and a new glass pavilion constructed to house the canteen. During the excavation and build, ancient archaeological finds were preserved and protected in situ.
Location Kilkenny City
Surface 1200 m2
Year Completed 2008
Client Heritage Council of Ireland
Architect John Cahill, OPW
Quantity Surveyors OPW